

Academy of Science and Technology Team B Wins at 2012 Texas Envirothon

April 18, 2012—The Texas Envirothon was held April 14-16, 2012 at the Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas. Envirothon is an academic, extra-curricular environmental and natural resource education program and competition designed for high school students. Teams of five students work together to answer questions focusing on five areas of study: aquatics, forestry, soils, wildlife, and the current environmental issue, which this year was nonpoint source pollution/low impact development. In addition to the field experience, students also participate in an oral component focusing on a real-world environmental problem. Five schools for a total of eight teams participated in the competition. Those competing were: Academy of Science and Technology (The Woodlands – Teams A & B); The John Cooper School (The Woodlands – Teams A & B); Klein Collins High School (Spring); Richardson High School (Richardson); and Rio Hondo High School (Rio Hondo – Teams A & B).

The overall winner of the 2012 Texas Envirothon was Academy of Science and Technology,
Team B. Students on the winning team were: Xinyi Wang, Emily Eichelberger, Surabhi Reddy, Sebastian
Munoz, and Rachel Reid. Academy of Science and Technology Team A was second place; The John
Cooper School, Team A took third place. Academy of Science and Technology Team B will represent
Texas at the Canon Envirothon competition to be held in Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania on July 22- July 28,
2012.

In addition to the overall winners, awards were given to the top scoring teams on the field/written exam by topic and for the top team in the oral presentations during a ceremony held at the Stephen F.

Austin Student Center on Monday afternoon. The winners were The John Cooper School Team A in Aquatics; The John Cooper School Team B in Current Issue; Academy of Science and Technology Team B in Forestry and Soils; Academy of Science and Technology Team A in Oral Presentation; and Klein Collins High School in Wildlife.

The fun began on Saturday afternoon with student training workshops presented by a variety of professionals. Presenters included Michelle Holyfield and Alex Stanton from Eastman Chemical Company, Dr. Kenneth Farrish from SFASU, John Boyette and Daniel Duncum from the Texas Forest Service, Dr. Jeremy Stovall from SFASU, Dr. Chris Comer from SFASU, Dr. Matt McBroom from SFASU and Donna Work from the Texas Forest Service. During these presentations, students received training in aquatics, forestry, soils, wildlife, and oral presentation skills. The field competition officially began on Sunday morning at the SFA Piney Woods Native Plant Center. There were 40 students, as well as 10 team advisors, participating in the field testing. Questions on the field test ranged from identifying animal tracks, aquatic invertebrates, and tree measurements to describing soil textures and discussing the impacts of nonpoint source pollution. Over 50 volunteers assisted with a variety of jobs that included monitoring the field stations, taking photos, leading students to each station, grading the field tests and serving as judges for the oral presentations.

To help students prepare for Sunday evening's challenge, which was to develop a proposal addressing how to best manage development of Lake Nachoniche in the Attoyac Bayou Watershed, Mr. Seth Rodewald-Bates, Senior Landscape Architect from Newton Landscape Group, presented "Keep a Lid on it: Landscape Urbanism and Development Best Practices." The students were then sequestered for three hours to work on their presentations. The presentations were delivered to a panel of six judges on Monday morning.

Sponsors of the 2012 Texas Envirothon were: Eastman Chemical Company, Enbridge Inc., Entergy Corporation, LyondellBasell, University of Houston-Clear Lake, Environmental Institute of Houston, Canon USA, Gulf Coast Waste Disposal Authority, Texas Association of Environmental Professionals, Association of Texas Soil and Water Conservation Districts, Texas Association for Environmental Education, Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company, Harris County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD), Montgomery County SWCD; San Patricio SWCD, Walker County SWCD, Bosque SWCD, and Upshur-Gregg SWCD.



Academy of Science and Technology Team B takes first place at the 2012 Texas Envirothon. (l. to r.) Dr. Hans Williams, SFASU, Linda Costanzo, AST advisor, Larry Walker, AST advisor, Rachel Reid, Emily Eichelberger, Xinyi Wang, Surabhi Reddy, Sebastian Munoz, and Elyce Rodewald of SFASU.

###

For more information about the Texas Envirothon, contact Wendy Reistle, Environmental Institute of Houston/UHCL, at (281) 283-3045 or visit www.texasenvirothon.org.