Faculty Senate

Meeting Minutes

February 2, 2022 / Zoom or B2236 / 1:00-3:00 p.m.

Senators

Present: Anne Anders, Comeka Anderson Diaz, Elizabeth Beavers, Yvette Bendeck, Amber Brown, Sarah Costello, RJ Davis, Anton Dubrovskiy Neal Dugre, Leticia French, Kathleen Garland, Leslie Gauna-Gago, Shanna Graves, Youssef Hamidi, Beth Hentges, Rebecca Huss-Keeler, Daniel Imrecke, Preeti Jain, , Angela Kelling, Anna Klyueva, Timothy Michael, Jordan Mitchell, Jeff Mountain, Janice Newsum, Desdamona Rios, Leroy Robinson, Gene Shan, Haeyoung Shin, Ishaq Unwala, , Christine Walther, Sharon White Andrews, Paul Withey, Randy Seevers, Faiza Zalila,

Absent: 1

Administrative Guests: Robert Bartsch, Mark Denney, David Garrison, LeeBrian Gaskins, Samuel Gladden, Kathryn Matthew, Christopher Maynard, Vivienne McClendon, Veronica Ortiz, Joan Pedro, Tim Richardson, Glenn Sanford, Richard Walker, Edward Waller, Lee Young

Next meeting: November 3, 2021 / Zoom or B2236

Call to Order – Dr. Withey

1:08

Approval of Faculty Senate minutes – Dr. Withey

Minutes were approved with one edit to correct the attendance by listing Janice Newsum as present.

Vote: 27 Yea; 0 Nay; 0 Abstain – passed with edits

Provost's Office Report - Dr. Maynard

Dr. Maynard began by thanking the new QEP Faculty Fellow – Dr. Leroy Robinson and everyone for the work being completed for the SACs visit. He also thanked all faculty for the work they completed for a great start to the semester.

Dr. Maynard presented four items for consideration and feedback from the senators. These items presented are in response to questions and concerns that he has received from faculty.

Academic calendar – A committee is being created to address concerns about changes to the Academic Calendar without going through the proper process. The committee will serve in an advisory capacity and will provide input and recommendations on adjustments to the calendar as warranted.

Graduate programs – A Graduate Council will be created to discuss and facilitate dialogue on graduate programs and admissions. The council will only serve on an advisory capacity and will consist of the Associate Deans and three representatives from each college.

Ombudsperson – This position is supported by the Provost and will be included as a new initiative request for FY23.

Organizational Chart – Updates to the Organizational Chart was discussed. Focus on changes to CETL and CFD occurred. An updated copy of the organization chart was shared with the senators.

Provost website – the website is being updated to streamline the information being provided.

Questions about testing in Delta and Bayou occurred. Testing in Delta will be moved to an outside Kiosk in the parking lot and testing in Bayou has been moved to a small room near Atrium II. The Bayou testing location will focus on faculty, staff, and students.

Committee Reports are attached. There was discussion about the committee reports as follows:

Senate Committee Report – Curriculum – Dr. Huss-Keeler

UHCL Writing Requirement – a brief rational was provided.

Vote: 32 Yea; 0 Nay; 0 Abstain

The committee is hoping to have the UHCL Credit Bearing Certificate Policy ready to present at the next meeting.

Discussion on Latin Honors have resumed at the recommendation of the Teaching and Research Committee.

Senate Committee Report – Teaching & Research – Dr. Dubrovskiy

Centers & Institutes – The Centers & Institute policy was presented to the senators. Discussion occurred on the policy

Vote: 31 Yea; 0 Nay; 0 Abstain

An overview of the committee report was provided. No questions were asked.

Senate Committee Report – Budget & Facilities – Dr. Unwala

An overview of the committee report was provided. No questions were asked.

Senate Committee Report – Faculty Life – Dr. Costello

An overview of the committee report was provided. Discussion of the NTT policy and recent changes occurred.

Senate Committee Report – Governance – Dr. Beavers

An overview of the committee report was provided. No questions were asked.

Shared Governance Reports - Drs. Bendeck, Michael, & Garland

- University Life Dr. Garland
 An overview of the committee report was provided. No questions were asked
- Facilities & Support Services Dr. Bendeck
 An overview of the committee report was provided. Questions and discussion about parking fee increase occurred.
- Planning and Budget Dr. Michael
 An overview of the committee report was provided. Discussion on budget initiatives occurred.

New Business – Dr. Paul Withey

No new business.

Center for Faculty Development – Robert Bartsch

Dr. Bartsch thanked everyone for presenting and attending Faculty Development Week. He also thanked Provost Maynard for providing lunch at one of the sessions. Faculty Development Week had over 300 hours and over 124 individuals attending the 15 synchronous and 6 asynchronous sessions.

Writing Challenge started on Tuesday with a record number of 32 faculty and adjuncts participating.

Future events include a SoTL and Writing to Learn workshop

Quality Matters – Instructional Designers will be contacting faculty to work on some QM to fully develop their online courses.

Peer Observation of Teaching training will occur after spring break.

No questions were asked.

Announcements - Dr. Withey

State of the University will be on 2/15/2022 at 2:00 p.m. in the Bayou Theater with limited seating. The presentation will not be live streamed but will be recorded and made available to faculty and staff.

Call for Adjournment - Dr. Withey

2:29

Faculty Senate Meeting Attendance 2/2/2022

Senators			
Present	First	Last	
✓	Anne	Anders	
✓	Comeka	Anderson Diaz	
✓	Sharon	Andrews	
✓	Elizabeth	Beavers	
✓	Yvette	Bendeck	
✓	Amber	Brown	
✓	Sarah	Costello	
✓	RJ	Davis	
✓	Anton	Dubrovskiy	
✓	Neal	Dugre	
✓	Leticia	French	
✓	Kathleen	Garland	
✓	Leslie	Gauna	
✓	Shanna	Graves	
✓	Youssef	Hamidi	
✓	Beth	Hentges	
✓	Rebecca	Huss-Keeler	
✓	Daniel	Imrecke	
✓	Preeti	Jain	
✓	Angela	Kelling	
✓	Anna	Klyueva	
✓	Timothy	Michael	
✓	Jordan	Mitchell	
✓	Jeffrey	Mountain	
✓	Janice	Newsum	
	Alfredo	Perez Davila	
✓	Desdamona	Rios	
✓	Leroy	Robinson	
✓	Randy	Seevers	
✓	Gene	Shan	
✓	Haeyoung	Shin	
✓	Ishaq	Unwala	
✓	Christine	Walther	
✓	Paul	Withey	
✓	Faiza	Zalila	

Administration			
Present	First	Last	
✓	Robert	Bartsch	
✓	Mark	Denney	
✓	David	Garrison	
✓	Lee Brian	Gaskin	
✓	Samuel	Gladden	
	Miguel	Gonzalez	
	Kara Marie	Hadley-Shakya	
	Aaron	Hart	
✓	Kathryn	Matthew	
✓	Christopher	Maynard	
✓	Vivienne	McClendon	
✓	Joan	Pedro	
✓	Timothy	Richardson	
√	Glenn	Sanford	
	Felix	Simieou	
	Troy	Voelker	
✓	Richard	Walker	
✓	Edward	Waller	
✓	Lee	Young	

Guest			
Present	First	Last	
✓	Heather	Kanenberg	
✓	Porcha	Stampley	
✓	Brittany	Thompson	