University of Houston-Clear Lake Search   Home  
University of Houston-Clear Lake  

Environmental Science M.S.

This plan is for Environmental Science M.S. students seeking the master's degree in either the face-to-face or the online format. For the face-to-face degree program, applicants must choose one of the five specializations when they apply:

  1. Environmental Biology
  2. Environmental Geology
  3. Environmental Chemistry
  4. Industrial Hygiene
  5. Safety

For the online degree program, the Environmental Science Online degree program allows applicants to choose between two options: the General Environmental Science or the Occupational Health and Safety Specialization. The online General Environmental Science option does not specify any of the five specializations. Online degree seeking students in both options are allowed to take all courses fully-online.

Admission Requirements

The minimum admission requirements for Environmental Science degree program, including on-line programs, are 1) 3.0 GPA, and 2) 290 GRE scores (150 Quantitative, 140 Verbal).

A GPA of 3.0 or higher on the applicant’s last 60 hours of college credit is preferred, but a somewhat lower GPA may be accepted by some faculty committees, if the other criteria are favorable.

Environmental Science also requires a personal statement outlining academic background, academic and career goals, and declaration of a specialization under the Environmental Science degree plan. Two letters of recommendation are suggested, but not required. Students should submit a written statement to the College of Science and Engineering Academic Advising Office (cseadvising@uhcl.edu).


Program Faculty

BIOL

Cindy Howard

Professor

howardc@uhcl.edu

BIOL

George Guillen

Associate Professor

guilllen@uhcl.edu

BIOL

Richard Puzdrowski

Associate Professor

puzdrowski@uhcl.edu

CHEM

Carl Zhang

Professor

zhang@uhcl.edu

CHEM

Sachiyo Mukherji

Lecturer

mukherji@uhcl.edu

GEOL

Dongmin Sun

Tenured Associate Professor

SunDon@UHCL.edu

GEOL

Daniel Imrecke

Tenure-Track Assistant Professor

Imrecke@UHCL.edu

GEOL/ENSC

Gerald Pollack

Lecturer

Pollack@UHCL.edu

INDH

Magdy Akladios

Tenured Associate Professor and Department Chair

akladios@uhcl.edu

INDH

Bob Phalen

Tenure-Track Associate Professor

phalen@uhcl.edu

INDH

Dennis Casserly

Professor Emeritus

casserly@uhcl.edu

Degree Plans

Student Resources

Last updated: 10/11/2016 UTC
UHCL footer
Accessibility | Clery Act | Compact with Texans | Emergency Information | Maps & Directions | State Website Linking and Privacy Policy
Fraud Reporting | Title IX (Sexual Misconduct) | UH System | Public Information |MySafeCampus
 
OmniUpdate