University of Houston-Clear Lake Search   Home  
University of Houston-Clear Lake  

Environmental Science B.S.

Environmental Science Bachelor of Science

The plan in Environmental Science leads to the bachelor of science (B.S.) degree. This plan seeks through an interdisciplinary approach to prepare students for opportunities in the private sector and in governmental agencies where environmental issues are being addressed. Graduates of the plan will also be prepared to pursue further academic training in Environmental Science. Students may also prepare for the professional certification examinations in Industrial Hygiene and/or Safety.

Environmental Science with specialization in Environmental Biology

Environmental Science Bachelor of Science This Environmental Biology Specialization prepares students to investigate, analyze, and determine solutions for environmental problems associated with natural populations and ecosystems, such as pollution, development and population growth. The curriculum provides opportunities for study in environmental toxicology, conservation biology and aquatic biology.

Environmental Science with specialization in Environmental Chemistry

Environmental Science Bachelor of Science This Environmental Chemistry Specialization prepares students to acquire knowledge and skills in fate and transport studies, instrumentations, and pollution control technologies. The curriculum provides theories to hands-on practice in courses, including sampling and monitoring, air/water pollution, soil/groundwater remediation, and environmental chemodynamics.

Environmental Science with specialization in Environmental Geology

Environmental Science Bachelor of Science The Environmental Geology Specialization prepares students to recognize, investigate and analyze environmental problems associated with geology including groundwater. The curriculum is broad-based, including courses in remote sensing, ground water hydrology, wetlands and environmental geochemistry
   

Program Faculty

 

BIOL

Cindy Howard

Professor

howardc@uhcl.edu

BIOL

George Guillen

Associate Professor

guilllen@uhcl.edu

BIOL

Richard Puzdrowski

Associate Professor

puzdrowski@uhcl.edu

CHEM

Carl Zhang

Professor

zhang@uhcl.edu

CHEM

Sachiyo Mukherji

Lecturer

mukherji@uhcl.edu

GEOL

Dongmin Sun

Tenured Associate Professor

SunDon@UHCL.edu

GEOL

Daniel Imrecke

Tenure-Track Assistant Professor

Imrecke@UHCL.edu

GEOL/ENSC

Gerald Pollack

Lecturer

Pollack@UHCL.edu

INDH

Magdy Akladios

Tenured Associate Professor and Department Chair

akladios@uhcl.edu

INDH

Bob Phalen

Tenure-Track Associate Professor

phalen@uhcl.edu

INDH

Dennis Casserly

Professor Emeritus

casserly@uhcl.edu

Degree Plans

Student Resources

Last updated: 10/12/2016 UTC
UHCL footer
Accessibility | Clery Act | Compact with Texans | Emergency Information | Maps & Directions | State Website Linking and Privacy Policy
Fraud Reporting | Title IX (Sexual Misconduct) | UH System | Public Information |MySafeCampus
 
OmniUpdate