University of Houston-Clear Lake Search   Home  
University of Houston-Clear Lake  

Faculty

Biological & Environmental Sciences Department - Faculty


Martha Ariza   Martha Ariza
Lecturer of Biotechnology

Office: B3321
Phone: (281) 283-3763
Email: Ariza@uhcl.edu

Thomas Garcia  

Thomas Garcia
Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: B3321
Phone: (281) 283-3740
Email: GarciaT@uhcl.edu


Research Interest: Elucidating novel molecular determinants underlying the control of spermatogenesis, Understanding the male reproductive toxicity of novel kinase inhibitor-based cancer treatments, Developing novel therapeutic approaches to protect against testicular damage from cytotoxic cancer treatments


George Guillen  

George Guillen
Associate Professor of Biology and Environmental Science
Director of EIH

Office: N116
Phone:(281) 283-3950
Email: guillen@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sce.uhcl.edu/guilleng

Research Interests: Coastal, Freshwater and Wetland Ecology, Coastal Ornithology, Coastal Herpetology, Ichthyology & Fisheries Science, Population and Community Dynamics and Food Web Modeling, Effects of altered climate, hydrology, habitat loss, and water quality on aquatic ecosystems


Cynthia Howard  

Cynthia Howard
Professor of Biology and Environmental Science
Program Chair of Biological Sciences

Office: 3525-12
Phone: (281) 283-3745
Email: howardc@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sce.uhcl.edu/howard

Research Interests: Environmental Toxicology and Ecology, Ecotoxicology in Estuarine & Coastal Wetland Communities, Biomarkers of Pollutants Effects, Tropical Ecotoxicology


Michael LaMontagne  

Michael LaMontagne
Assistant Professor of Microbiology

Office: B3121-4
Phone: (281) 283-3754
Email: LaMontagne@UHCL.edu

Research Interests: Microbial ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Metagenomics, Microbial Discovery, Biogeochemistry


Ron Mills   Ronald Mills
Professor of Biology, Biotechnology and Chemistry

Office: 3531-1
Phone: (281) 283-3773
Email: mills@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sce.uhcl.edu/mills

Research Interests: Plant biochemistry, Ecotilling and plant genomics

Russell Minton   Russell Minton
Associate Professor of Biology

Office: B3531
Phone: 281-283-3760
Email: Minton@uhcl.edu

 Research Interests are Invertebrate zoology, malacology, taxonomy, and molecular systematics


Mukherji, Sachiyo  

Sachiyo Mukherji
Lecturer of Environmental Chemistry

Office: B3237
Phone: 281-283-3789
Email: Mukherji@uhcl.edu

Research Interest: Sustainable and energy efficient resource recovery from solid wastes and wastewater, Bioremediation of toxic xenobiotic compounds in the ecosystem utilizing plants and microorganisms


Mary Nye  

Mary Nye
Lecturer of Biology

Office: 3525
Phone: (281) 283-283-3748
Email: Nye@uhcl.edu


Richard Puzdrowski   Richard Puzdrowski
Associate Professor of Biology

Office: 3525- 4
Phone: (281) 283-283-3750
Email: puzdrowski@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sce.uhcl.edu/puzdrowski

Research Interests: Comparative Anatomy, Vertebrate Physiology, Neurobiology


Bazlur Rashid   Bazlur Rashid
Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology

Office: 3525-11
Phone: (281) 283 3756
Email: rashid@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sce.uhcl.edu/rashid

Research Interests: Regulation and localization of proteins/enzymes toward vaccine development or chemotherapy, Cloning of novel genes to study roles in pathophysiology of human diseases, Universal expression of genes in both prokaryotes and eukaryotes, Mechanism of DNA replication

Larry Rohde  

Larry Rohde
Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology
Biological & Enviromental Sciences Department Chair

Office: 3525-6
Phone: (281) 283-3743
Email: rohde@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sce.uhcl.edu/rohde

Research Interests: Molecular and developmental biology, Regulation of apoptosis; protein-protein interaction, transcription control, protein modification


Patricia Trubal   Patricia Trubl
Lecturer of Biology

Office: B3321
Phone: (281) 283-3762
Email: Trubl@uhcl.edu

Lory Z. Santiago-Vázquez   Lory Z. Santiago-Vázquez
Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology
Program Chair of Biotechnology

Office: B3525-7
Phone: (281) 283-3776
Email: santiago@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sceweb.sce.uhcl.edu/santiago

Research Interests: Biotechnology of marine natural products with anti-inflammatory and anti-cancer activity, Microbial ecology of soft corals, Molecular markers of the stress response of corals

Brian Stephens   Brian Stephens
Associate Professor of Biology & Biotechnology


Office: B3525
Phone: (281) 283-3798
Email: Stephensb@uhcl.edu

Research Interests: Plant Physiology, Plant Nutrient Transport, Plant Genomics, Genetic Variation within a Species, Plant Biotechnology

 Carl Zhang  

Carl Zhang, Ph.D., PE
Professor of Environmental Science and Environmental Chemistry
Program Chair Environmental Science


Office: B3525-9
Phone: (281) 283-3746
Email: zhang@uhcl.edu
Website: http://sce.uhcl.edu/zhang

Research Interests: Environmental Chemistry, Environmental Remediation, Environmental Biotechnology


Last updated: 08/15/2016 UTC
UHCL footer
Accessibility | Clery Act | Compact with Texans | Emergency Information | Maps & Directions | State Website Linking and Privacy Policy
Fraud Reporting | Title IX (Sexual Misconduct) | UH System | Public Information |MySafeCampus
 
OmniUpdate